9-1 Grading Explained

It is said that the new scale is necessary as GCSEs have become more demanding and so using numbers is intended to distinguish the achievements of high-attaining students. 

The New Scale:

It is important to note that the old and new GCSE grading scales do not directly align. 

- Grades 9 to 7 range from A* to A

- Grades 6 to 4 range from B to C

- Grades 3 to 1 range from D to G

The Department for Education will recognise grade 4 as a 'standard pass', what is required to be reached in English and Mathematics so that no re-take is necessary.

A grade 5 or above is the governments definition of a 'strong pass', and ideally all students should be aiming for a 5 or above.